Uncategorized

Review of the new Doctor

So the greatly anticipated moment finally arrived this past Saturday night:  the season premiere of Doctor Who and the debut of the 12th (or is it 13th? hmmmmm……) Doctor.

First, let me say that when Peter Capaldi was announced as the new Doctor, I was fairly disappointed.  Part of me had hoped they’d figure out a way to bring David Tennant back (hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?), while the other part had hoped for at least someone as handsome and charming as David Tennant.  So when Peter Capaldi was introduced as the new Doctor, all I could think was, he’s so old.

As the days grew closer and closer to the new season, however, my enthusiasm to meet the new Doctor grew.  And I wasn’t disappointed.  I LOVE this new Doctor!  He’s darker, more brooding, and more serious, although there were times during the episode when I laughed out loud because he is quite clever and funny as well!

I think what I loved most about the opening episode was that one of the key plots was Clara’s inability to accept the new Doctor because he was no longer the young and handsome Doctor that she knew.  She missed the old Doctor and wanted him back.  Why did he have to regenerate into someone older and grayer?  You see the pattern here?  (No? See second paragraph above.)  As my 18-year-old daughter voiced several minutes into the episode, “I don’t like this new Doctor.  He’s too old.  I want Matt Smith back.”  By the end of the episode, though, Clara learned to accept the new Doctor, as did my daughter, as did millions of fans around the world.

I can’t wait for the next episode!

Also, an update on the half-marathon training (only 6 days until race day): yesterday was supposed to be my final long run before race day.  I was to run 12 miles.  I woke up about 8:00 a.m. and let the dogs out and could feel the humidity take my breath away as I opened the door.  Ugh.  I grabbed a cup of coffee and sat and watched the new Doctor Who episode again with my daughter (I had DVR’d it for her, since she was out the night before and missed it).  The later in the morning it got, the more hot and humid I knew it was getting, so at about 9:30, I ate a banana with peanut butter and put on my running gear.  I loaded up with water and Gatorade and headed out.  I was doomed from the start.  For the first time in a very long time, I had to force myself outside to run.  Not a good sign.  Secondly, I had it in my head that it was going to be hot and humid out and that I would be miserable before I even got started.  Another bad sign.  Around 3 miles, I started getting stitches in my stomach and every excuse in the world to stop running was racing through my mind.  I was so close to just stopping where I was at and bursting into tears out of frustration with myself.  You’re on the last week of training and you’re seriously not going to finish?  You’re giving up? You’re so close!  What is wrong with you?

I realized that berating myself wasn’t accomplishing anything, but I also knew that I was not going to be able to finish the run at the rate I was going, so instead I compromised and decided to finish the run indoors on the treadmill where it was cooler.  So at this point, I’ve run about 3-1/2 miles, so I arrived home and hopped on the treadmill and ran another 5 miles before my back was killing me and I started developing a dull ache in the area of a previous stress fracture.  I made the decision at that point to just stop.  The half-marathon is only a week away; is it worth pushing myself and risking injury at this point?  No way.

After that disappointing run, I could be telling myself that because I didn’t run 12 miles, it’s going to be too hard to do 13.1 and that I may not be able to do it.  But instead, I’m excited and anxious because I know, I just know, that I can do it!  I keep hearing the voices from other runners telling me, “If you can run 10 miles, you can run a half-marathon.”  It’s like a mantra in my head now.

And speaking of marathons….I FINALLY finished the first Game of Thrones book!  I think that was one of the longest books of my life!  But I loved it, and I’m anxious to read the next four books in the series!

2 thoughts on “Review of the new Doctor

  1. Your training is a culmination of running longer and longer distances and you do get to a point where you can run far beyond what you’ve trained for. I have no doubt that you can run 13 miles (but you might struggle with the point 1 – everyone does! It’s the longest part of the race!!)

    You, like me, have suffered the warmer weather training through the summer – I’m wondering if I should stick to spring and late autumn races and enjoy the sunshine in the summer months.

    It’s tough! I’ve resorted to splitting long runs am/pm to get them done and running them on the treadmill with a fan blasting colder air at me. Tough, but it makes you stronger.

    I tend to talk to myself all the way round. Just “Come on” and ” You can do this “. I also distract myself with things I can see, people’s vests, asking myself a question or trying to work out something difficult. Miles can pass before I’ve worked out some things! I can’t be very bright 😉

    Take care and enjoy the taper!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the words of encouragement! I know it will be tough (otherwise, everyone would do it, right?), but I feel like I’m in a good place both mentally and physically to do this thing! I just want Sunday to get here so I can get it done! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

