Uncategorized

Me in the past, present and future

One of my favorite blogs is Nerd Fitness.  I think that Steve writes such brilliant, inspirational posts!  Here is a link to his post from today:

Nerd Fitness

I think that his post made an important point.  While you shouldn’t think about the past too much, as there’s nothing you can do to change it, I think that it’s good to compare the person that you are now to the person you were in the past, say 10 years ago because hopefully you’ve learned some things in those 10 years.

When I look back 10 years ago and look at the person that I am today, I see huge improvements.  Here are some examples of the person I was 10 years ago:

1.  My eating habits weren’t that great.  I ate the typical standard American diet – lots of processed stuff, lots of fast food.  I drank the equivalent of about 2 pots of coffee a day.  I didn’t eat a lot of fruits and vegetables.  Exercise was sporatic and usually consisted of walks, sometimes over my lunch hour at work, sometimes in the evenings if I felt motivated.  No exercise on the weekends at all.

2.  Although I wasn’t hugely overweight, I was wearing a size 14.  I was out of shape.  I was tired.  I didn’t feel good about my body at all.

3.  Around that time frame, I started having horrible dizzy spells and nausea.  Eventually I was diagnosed with Meniere’s disease (an inner ear disorder).  I ended up losing quite a bit of weight (most of which I eventually gained back) because I was so nauseous from the dizzy spells and vertigo that I had no appetite.  I felt motion sickness most of the time.  After I was diagnosed with Meniere’s, I was put on a diuretic and had to follow a strict low-sodium diet.  Although my symptoms improved after this, they never went away completely.

4.  I was majorly stressed.  I hated my job.  My kids were starting to get busier with school and extracurricular activities.  My weekends were spent catching up on errands and household chores.  I never stopped to make time for me because everybody else’s needs came first.  That’s the way it’s supposed to be, right?  That’s what I thought at the time, anyway.

Today, I’m a completely different person:

1.  I’ve been eating a plant-based diet for several years.  Vegetables, fruits, and whole grains make up my diet.  I rarely eat processed foods anymore.  I run at least 4 times a week.  I do a strengthening workout a couple of times a week.  My husband and I go hiking on the weekends as often as we can.  I’m so much more active.

2.  I’ve been at a healthy weight for quite some time.  I wear a size 8.  I feel amazing and am in the best shape physically than I’ve ever been.

3.  Since eating a healthy plant-based diet, my Meniere’s went into remission.  I no longer have any symptoms.  I don’t take any medications, and I don’t even pay attention to my sodium intake because most of the things I eat are not processed.

4.  I switched jobs almost 3 years ago.  My stress level decreased significantly.  Although I’ve still remained busy with work, the kids, my husband, and the house, I make time for me.  I eat healthy, I exercise regularly.  It’s amazing how a healthy lifestyle has helped me cope with stress.

What do I want my life to look like in 10 years?  I’ll be 58 years old by then.  Let’s see…..

1.  Unless my husband and I have won the lottery, I’ll still be working.

2.  I’ll still be running.  My workout room walls will be overflowing with 5k, 10k, half-marathon, and marathon medals and bibs.

3.  Or maybe I’ll be doing CrossFit, or triathlons.

4.  My husband and I will have a camper and we’ll have traveled and hiked in lots of different places by then.

5.  I’ll be a grandma who can keep up with her grandkids.

6.  As a vegan, I won’t be the minority anymore.  Meat eaters will be the minority, if they even exist anymore.

7.  I will still be healthy and active like I am today, except maybe a bit grayer and wrinkly.  But still just as happy and blessed as I am today.

How about you?  Are there changes you need to make today to make your current self better so that your future self rocks?  Or are you already a rock star and 10 years from now, it will just be that much better?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Me in the past, present and future

  1. I just started doing two pages of free writing first thing in the morning to kick off the day, and was reflecting about where I’ve come from & where I’m going. Congrats on all the great work you’ve done for you and your health in the last ten years – really incredible! I’ll be rocking the non-meat-eating majority with you before we know it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

