Uncategorized

Making a difference

I don’t know about anyone else, but I hope that when I leave this world, I have made a difference; that in some way, I have made the world a better place.

I try to be kind.  I try to be generous.  I try to be strong and brave.

I’m not what you would call religious, but I believe that I am spiritual.  I believe in God and I believe that He gave us life so that we could love and help one another.

I believe that when I made the decision to become vegan, my heart spoke to me and I’m so glad that I listened because I believe that it’s the right thing to do.  I don’t need to eat animal products to live a normal, healthy life; therefore, no animal has to be harmed so that I may live.

I also believe that running came into my life to teach me to become stronger and braver.  I have always been the type of person who has lived in fear of failure and because of this fear, I’ve been afraid to take risks or try new things.  Running changed that.  Although I have a fear of failure with every running goal I make, I gather courage and I try.  I don’t always succeed, but instead of giving up, I try even harder next time.  This is so out of character for me and I like how running has changed me.

That being said, it takes courage for me to post and blog about my vegan and running journey.  I fear judgment from others.  I fear criticism.  I fear resentment.  But most of all, I fear that no one cares, that no one is paying attention.

Why should I care if anyone is paying attention to what I do?  Honestly, it shouldn’t matter.  I do what I do for myself, not for others.  I only have control over what I eat, and I only have control over the lifestyle that I live.

But it’s not just about me.  There has to be a purpose besides just me being healthy, right?  This could be a way for me to help others.  Perhaps by posting about my plant-based diet and running journey, I could influence others around me and make them want to go vegan and make them want to live a healthier lifestyle.

Or maybe instead I’ll just annoy the hell out of everyone and they’ll just ignore me.

For the most part, I get words of support and encouragement from other vegans and runners.  Most of the time?  Dead air.  Hello?  Hello?  Is this mic working?  Bueller?  Bueller? 

And I get the occasional bacon joke.

Then yesterday, someone I know messaged me on Facebook and said that she had started to walk/run because my posts have inspired her.

And someone else told me that she’s trying to be vegan.

So maybe I am making a difference.  Maybe I can help make the world a better place.  I will keep trying, and I won’t let fear hold me back.

When I’m breathing my last breath, I want to be able to look back at my life and say to myself, “Ya done good.”

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” -Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “Making a difference

  1. Beautiful post – I know you’ve inspired me as well (as a vegan and flailing runner). It’s true that sometimes we don’t know the positive ripple effects of our actions, but part of the bravery is having faith that it’s happening. Bacon, schmacon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

