Uncategorized

Yesterday was a good day.

TGIF!  This week really flew by fast!  It’s my husband’s birthday today, so we’re going to meet some friends at a Mexican restaurant tonight after work, where they have mushroom fajitas and THE best margaritas!  Can’t wait!

Yesterday was a pretty awesome day!  My big project at work is building our lab website and it’s looking pretty good, I think.  At lunch time, I went for a 2-mile walk and then when I got home, I went for a 3-mile run.  My legs are still a bit sore from the speed workout on Wednesday, and so I decided that I wasn’t going to take my iPod with me, or my Garmin watch.  I just wanted to be able to enjoy the run for the sake of running and not have to worry about my pace.  It also looked like it might start raining at any time, so I just wanted to enjoy the cool weather and not be distracted by music or glances at a watch.  I set out on a path that I knew was 3 miles and just ran at a nice, easy pace and it was so nice.

I then got home to prepare dinner and our oldest daughter joined us.  I made spaghetti with meat sauce for the family.  For me, I sauted some kale in a bit of olive oil and then added leftover grilled zucchini and eggplant.  I put the mixture on top of some whole wheat spaghetti and sprinkled some nutritional yeast over it.  So delicious!

I still had some fresh kale leftover, so I minced it up in a food processor and then added chickpeas, vegan mayonnaise, Dijon mustard, onion powder, and bit of salt and mixed it all up and made a sandwich for my lunch today!  I used to love tuna and egg salad during my omnivore days, but this salad with kale and chickpeas is an AWESOME vegan substitute.  So OMG good.

One of these days, I’ll remember that blogs are even better with PICTURES of the food I’m eating.  Good grief.  Sorry about that!

Have a great weekend!

“T.G.I.F.?  Let’s turn that into ‘Thank God it’s fulfilling.’ When we follow our bliss, we don’t have to wait until Friday to start having fun.  For the dreamer, passion is an everyday affair.” – T.K. Coleman

Leave a Reply

