Uncategorized

What I typically eat

When people find out that I’m a vegan, their first question is usually “What do you eat?” and then when I tell them what a plant-based diet looks like, they almost always say, “I could never do that!”

Eating plant-based is not that hard.  Once you get into a routine, and do a bit of planning and preparation, it’s really not difficult.

Here’s what a week of eating typically looks like for me:

Monday

Breakfast:  cup of black coffee, bowl of cereal or oatmeal with berries and sliced banana, soy milk

Mid-morning snack: fruit (today I have a peach and grapes)

Lunch: leftovers from dinner the night before (today I have leftover grilled zucchini and eggplant plus a cucumber & onion salad)

Afternoon snack:  nuts, more fruit

Dinner: Mondays are always Meatless Mondays at our house, so we typically have pasta or an Asian dish.  Last night we had veggie fried rice with mixed vegetables.

Tuesday

Breakfast, snacks, lunch are the same.

Dinner:  Tortilla Tuesdays!  Tonight we’re having tacos; sometimes we’ll have burritos or Mexican pizzas or  quesadillas.

Wednesday

Breakfast:  cup of black coffee, bowl of cereal or oatmeal with berries and sliced banana, soy milk

Mid-morning snack: fruit

Lunch: leftovers, or a big salad

Afternoon snack:  nuts, more fruit

Dinner: Salad, or a baked sweet potato topped with pecans, a bit of maple syrup, and a bit of Earth Balance vegan butter

Thursday

Pretty much the same as Wednesday!

Friday

Breakfast, lunch, and snacks the same.  For dinner, we always get take-out, like Chinese, Panera, or pizza, or we go out at a restaurant.

Saturday

Breakfast:  cup of black coffee, bowl of cereal or oatmeal with berries, sliced banana, soy milk

Lunch: usually leftovers from the night before or a salad or sandwich

Dinner: Summertime usually means something on the grill, like vegetables, or I’ll make up a batch of veggie burgers!

Sunday

Sundays are my favorite day of the week because I go for my long run and come home and make pancakes for brunch!  I wash and prep fruit and veggies for the upcoming week.  I’ll make a batch of hummus or salad mix.  Often I will make a big pot of soup.  If I make any desserts, it’s on Sundays.  Dinners are big so that there are plenty of leftovers, and of course, a glass of wine is necessary when cooking dinner on Sundays!  🙂

As you can see, for the most part, I eat the same things.  I do like to try new recipes, but very rarely do I cook something that takes a lot of time and effort.  I like to keep things simple.

Eating this way for over four years has kept me at a healthy weight.  I rarely get sick.  I have enough energy to run and work out regularly.  I feel really, really good.

It doesn’t get boring.  I don’t feel deprived.

And no, it’s not hard.

7 thoughts on “What I typically eat

  1. I have to try the baked sweet potato w/pecans and maple syrup! *drool*

    It’s pretty much the same at my house – Pasta on Mondays, Tacos on Tuesdays…

    Oh, and speaking of Taco Tuesday, I’m making the recipe Michele posted today – Black bean, zucchini and olive tacos. Go have a look at her blog if you haven’t yet 🙂

    Like

    1. I don’t like olives, but I have some leftover grilled zucchini and a can of black beans, so I’ll definitely be putting them in my tacos tonight! Add some corn, brown rice, avocado, salsa, greens, and avocado…..OMG. My stomach is starting to growl just thinking about it! 😀

      Like

      1. Yep! I’ve got fresh corn on the cob, fresh salsa, guacamole (of course), and I’m not sure yet if I’m gonna make quinoa or brown rice, but yeah – now I’m ready to go home and chow down 😉

        Like

    1. Brandon, it really is! I think it’s funny how people just assume it’s too hard and won’t even give it a try. I suggest to those who are interested to at least incorporate more plant-based foods into their diet, even if they think they can’t give up meat or dairy. Every little bit helps right?

      Like

      1. I agree, a decrease in meat-consumption (and therefore increase in plant-based products) would be healthy for many and already make a difference if adopted by many people. Especially if we take into account that the meat-consumption is exceeding the recommended amount by far.

        Like

Leave a Reply

