Uncategorized

Bix 7 recap

Brady Street Hill.

These three words have been on my mind over the last several months.

Those readers who live in this area and/or have done the Bix race are nodding their heads right now.  For those of you who don’t live in this area, let me just explain.

Brady Street Hill is about 1/3 of mile street in Davenport, Iowa that has a 9% grade incline, according to my Google research.  Let me just tell you, that this hill is BIG, and it’s the very first part of the race.  Here’s a photo that I found on Google:

img_0822

And this is what the street looked like on race day (photo courtesy of the Quad-Cities Times):

53d3f206d7d00.preview-620

There were almost 19,000 people racing yesterday.  That’s me, way in the back among the walkers.  When I registered for the race, they asked me what I thought my finishing time would be, which I knew would probably be slow, especially with the course being as hard as it was, and so I was among the walkers.  Bix rookie mistake #1: no matter how slow you run, do NOT put yourself with the walkers.  It took me over 19 minutes to do the first mile, simply because I was trying to maneuver around all of the walkers.  I also spent most of the race trying to maneuver around walker/joggers.

The race lived up to it’s legendary toughness.  Once you got up Brady Street, the course was flat for a while, and there were spectators lined up throughout the entire course.  There were various bands playing in yards, spectators were having parties – it was an atmosphere of celebration!  It really kept my spirits up throughout the entire race!

Then…..more hills.  Ugh.  I think there were 3 or 4 total.

Overall, though, I was really pleased with how I did.  Other than walking up the hills and slowing down to walk while I took a couple of water breaks, I ran at a good pace, and I finished the last mile strong.  Running DOWN Brady Street was my favorite part of the race!  I felt like I was flying!  And when I finished the race, I felt like I wasn’t out of breath, I still had strength in my legs, and I felt like I could have gone farther.  Despite all of the hills.  This was really encouraging because it gave me hope that a half-marathon is really possible for me.

And guess what?  Meb Keflezighi was there!

53d3f03a51b0a.preview-620

(photo courtesy of Quad-Cities Times)

I saw him as I was running.  I hadn’t even reached 2 miles yet and Meb and the leader pack of runners were already coming back on the return part of the course!  The winner ran the race in 33:16!  Crazy, but so inspiring!  I was grinning ear-to-ear when I saw Meb run by!  We were all cheering the faster runners as they ran by us!

10456008_10204571254589266_356871655802638572_n

This is me before the race, proudly wearing my No Meat Athlete shirt.

And this is me after the race, proudly wearing my finisher’s medal!

10570345_10204572486060052_5014560966397432835_n

My official time:  1:27:36.

There was a post-race party.  I brought a Clif bar with me, just in case, and I’m so glad that I did.  Other than grapes, there was nothing healthy to eat.  There were bags of chips, packaged peanut butter with crackers, Ho-Ho’s, and other processed crap.  No bananas.  No bagels.  Really disappointing.  However, there was cold beer.  And I drank some, and it….was…..good.

I’m already thinking about the race for next year.  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Bix 7 recap

  1. Great pics! You look amazing, and so proud, as you should be! What a shame about the post-race snacks, though, that’s ridiculous. Glad you were prepared. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Michele! The post-race food was a great disappointment, but as a vegan, I’ve sort of come to expect that, which is why I brought my own. Kind of sad, huh?

      My husband and I went home afterwards, showered and went out to eat, and I had hummus and a portobello mushroom sandwich! YUM! So all was well! 🙂

      Like

  2. Way to go!!!! You look great post-race (I always look like I’ve already died and am in the process of being embalmed) and it’s great to see someone else running proudly in their No-Meat Athlete shirt (I’m usually the only one!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

