Uncategorized

A recap of my 3-day weekend

Happy Monday!  I don’t know about you, but I’m having a hard time getting motivated.  It was such a great weekend!  I got all caught up on housework, laundry, and grocery shopping after being away for 9 days on vacation!  It was also a great weekend for running and making some tasty vegan food!

On Friday, the 4th of July, I did a 4-mile run with hills and a 1-mile cool-down walk.  My husband and I then got some groceries – the cupboards were bare!  We stocked up on lots of fresh fruit, veggies, and stuff to make meals for the week.  It’s nice to be on vacation and not have to worry about cooking and cleaning up, but honestly, I prefer to make meals at home.  It’s so much healthier (and yummier, too!)  My husband and I spent our 4th of July hanging out in the backyard and grilled our dinner.  The hubby had burgers and brats, while I had Tofurky beer brats (delish!)  We had potatoes on the side that I had prepared in the crockpot:

Crockpot taters

This is such an easy way to make a bunch of potatoes at once without having to turn on the stove!  Just scrub the potatoes, put them whole into the crockpot, and cook on high for about 3 hours.  I’ll eat these all week!

Of course, what would the 4th of July be without sparklers?  🙂

Sparklers

(I couldn’t wait until it got dark to play with the sparklers!)

On Saturday, I cleaned the house and got caught up on some laundry.  I’ve been craving mac & cheese for a while, so I decided to make this vegan mac & cheese.  It’s not the healthiest because of the margarine, but every now and then you gotta have some comfort food sprinkled with bread crumbs and margarine, you know what I’m saying?  This stuff is OMG GOOD.  Even the omnivore kiddo approved:

Vegan mac cheese

Vegan mac cheese I

Vegan mac cheese II

Vegan mac cheese III

On Saturday night, my husband and I finished watching Season 2 of Game of Thrones.  We LOVE this show!  Luckily, when we went to the library on Sunday to return the DVDs, they had Season 3 available, and so guess what we’ll be doing this week?  🙂

Finally, yesterday’s workout for my half-marathon training program was a 7-mile run!  I did it!

7 miles

The BIX 7-mile race that I signed up for is less than 3 weeks away!  I’m so excited and I feel so ready for it!

 

11 thoughts on “A recap of my 3-day weekend

      1. I’m very sad because the crockpot that I use that was given to me by my mother-in-law over 25 years ago (and it wasn’t new then) bit the dust over the weekend. I used a newer crockpot that I have and it’s just not the same. I’m sure it must have something to do with the brown and orange color scheme of the old crockpot. They just don’t make them like they used to!

        Like

    1. David Tennant? I will definitely be watching it! The hubby and I are in the midst of Season 3 of Game of Thrones, so as soon as we finish watching that, I’ll check out The Politician’s Husband! Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

