Uncategorized

Florida Vacation Recap

Hello!  I’m baaaaccck!  We had a wonderful time in Florida!  Here’s a recap:

We started out on Saturday morning and programmed the Garmin for Nashville, where we were going to take a break from driving and spend the night.  Nashville was about an 8-1/2 hour drive.

Of course, you have to pack snacks for the road:

Road trip snack

Mmmmmm…….

We arrived in Nashville just in time for dinner.  After doing some research, we decided to eat at Whiskey Kitchen because they had some vegan items on the menu.

whiskey kitchen

It was about an hour wait, but well worth it!  Their hummus is OMG good, but I didn’t really care for the roasted edamames.  Whenever I purchase them at the store, I get them already shelled and so I thought that they would be served to us that way, but they weren’t.  Here is a photo:

hummus_edamame

The roasted veggie wrap was really good!  It included fire-roasted veggies, herbed white bean hummus, spinach, artichokes, mushrooms, onions, peppers, tomatoes, basil, with citrus vinaigrette for dipping:

roasted_veggie_wrap

After dinner, we headed downtown, which was about a 15-minute walk:

nashville

Lots of clubs, music, people, street musicians – it was crazy!  Unfortunately, since we aren’t country music fans, it just wasn’t our thing.

The next day, I got up and did a quick 3-mile run on the treadmill in the hotel’s fitness room, had a quick breakfast of fruit and oatmeal and then we were on the road again.

We saw a rocket right off the interstate in Alabama.  This rocket has taken a total of 12 astronauts to the moon.  It was very cool!

Rocket

About 7 hours later, we finally made it to Florida!  Our youngest daughter saw the ocean for the first time!

Kayla Florida

The view from our hotel room:

view

After checking out the beach, it was time for dinner.  There was a place called Diego’s Burrito Factory right across the street from our hotel, so we decided to check it out.  I’m so glad we did!  Burritos are freshly made with whatever ingredients you choose.  I chose a veggie burrito with a spinach tortilla and it was stuffed with black and pinto beans, rice, lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, onions, cilantro, and salsa verde.  Muy bueno!!

Burrito

The next day, we got up early, took a walk to explore and then headed for the beach!

Beach bum Kayla sandcastle

Fiveoclock

For dinner that night, we ate at a place called Mellow Mushroom, a pizza place that has vegan options!  I ordered the Holy Shittake pizza:

vegan_pizza

It was delicious!

The next morning, I woke up to a very swollen face – too much sun and not enough sunscreen the day before!

toomuchsun

But do you think I learned my lesson?  Um, no.

sunburnt

I’m not sure if this picture accurately reflects how red I was (and still am).

So what do you do when you need a break from the sun?  You go shopping and stop at Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville for an ice cold margarita, of course!

Margarita

And wait until the sun goes down to enjoy a nice walk on the beach:

me_at_beach

And eat more vegan pizza:

more_vegan_pizza

And finally on Saturday, the main reason that we went to Florida – the Kids’ Artistic Revue National Dance Competition, where my daughter and other dance members competed.  Unfortunately, they didn’t place or anything, but it was such an exciting opportunity for them!  I’m so proud of Kayla!

kayla dance competition

Back on the road to home.  A soy latte will help!

coffee

Overall, it was a great trip!  Tomorrow I’ll talk about my experiences as a vegan on vacation, in addition to the challenges of staying on a healthy track during vacation.  (Spoiler: I suck.)

 

3 thoughts on “Florida Vacation Recap

    1. Thanks for reading and following my blog, Manny! I just briefly checked out your website: you had me at “breathtaking vegan pancakes”! 🙂 I look forward to reading your posts! You have an AWESOME day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

