Uncategorized

Taking a sabbatical from Facebook

I posted the other day about how sad I was feeling from all of the posts on Facebook regarding animal abuse.  I talked about how I felt like the best way to change things was to continue to be me and to continue what I was doing.

I’m still having a hard time.  I continue to be overwhelmed with sadness and anger.  These feelings are toxic.  I need to let go, and I think that in order to do that, I have to let go of the source that’s feeding this toxicity.

We are leaving for vacation in a few days, and I had planned on “unplugging” anyway, but I’ve decided that I need to unplug from Facebook effective now.  I don’t know for how long; at least until I get back from vacation, but perhaps longer depending on how things are going.

Here are the reasons that I’m taking a much-needed sabbatical from Facebook:

1.  I’m totally addicted.  I’m constantly checking Facebook at work.  Looking at Facebook is one of the first things I do in the morning.  I’m always looking at Facebook on my phone.  I just can’t seem to focus on what’s going on around me because I’m worried I’m going to miss something important on Facebook.  Seriously?  It’s time to make a break.

2.  While I have met some awesome people through Facebook, people who are vegan like me and have the same beliefs as me, liking as many vegan pages as possible has not necessarily been a good thing.  I’m bombarded with horrible images EVERY DAY of animal abuse and torture.  I can’t look at them anymore.  I’m already convinced and I’m already vegan; these posts are preaching to the choir, you know?  Me looking at them isn’t helping the cause one bit.  And sharing them with others really doesn’t seem to be making a bit of difference, either.  If I get supportive comments, they are from other vegans; otherwise, I’m greeted with complete silence.  I don’t think it’s because people don’t care; I think it’s because they just don’t want to know.  Knowing would mean change.  And change scares people, I think.  Besides, for every picture of an abused animal or reasons why we shouldn’t be eating meat, eggs, or dairy that I choose not to post, there will be 5 other people who are willing to post them.  By the way, how do you do it?  Those of you who continue to post and pass around petitions and protest – how do you do it?  How do you not get overwhelmed with complete sadness and anger and helplessness?  I want to find that inner strength to be able to do it, but I just can’t right now.  And how do you not punch the people who are constantly teasing you about how bacon would make that vegan dish taste so much better or are sending you pics of their bacon wrapped veggies?

3.  Which brings me to the final reason I’m taking a break from Facebook.  I honestly can’t deal with any of the bacon jokes any longer.  Bacon = dead pig. IT’S NOT FUNNY.  And the fact that I silently wish that these people end up choking on a piece of bacon is probably another sign that I need to just walk away for a bit and gain some perspective.

I will continue to blog, and I will continue to read others’ blogs because I think that there is so much inspiration out there in the blogging community.  So much love and positivity that it makes me want to sing “Kumbaya” and hug everyone.

Facebook just makes me want to punch people.

2 thoughts on “Taking a sabbatical from Facebook

  1. I’m the same way with constantly checking FB throughout the day. And I’m also extremely saddened and angered by the animal abuse stuff that gets passed around and shared. I STILL can’t stop thinking about that Pit from the other day 😦

    But, I haven’t yet reached the point where I’m ready to unplug. I don’t have any answers (I wish I did!), but I really do know how you feel.

    (((((hugs)))))

    Like

Leave a Reply

