Uncategorized

5 Books

It’s a rainy Saturday.  A good day to be curled up with a book.  Instead, I’ve been catching up on housework and now my husband and I are headed out the door for a much needed date night.

Today’s 10-day You Challenge is to talk about 5 books.  Picking my 5 favorite books is like asking me which of my kids is my favorite.  It’s an impossible task, so I’ve decided to talk about 5 books that have been influential in my life.

149267

1.  The Stand by Stephen King was one of the first adult novels that I read as a teenager.  After reading this book, there was no going back.  There’s horror……and then there’s horror written by Stephen King.  King set the stage for so many great authors in the horror genre, like Clive Barker and Dean Koontz.  I’ve read everything written by all of these authors, but nothing compares to The Stand.

334176

2.  The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell was one of the first books that was read by a book discussion group that I belonged to.  I had heard great reviews about the book and so I suggested that we read it, even though it was classified in the science fiction genre, and many of the women in the group were reluctant to read it.  Everyone LOVED it.  To this day, I don’t think I’ve seen our book group get so excited about a book.  Yes, it’s science fiction, but it’s so much more than that.

76334

3.  A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle has changed my life.  I have read lots of self-help books, but this one hit a chord with me.  To this day, I still think about things in this book, and it’s one of the few books that I’ve re-read several times.  This book has helped me to find my purpose, to focus on what’s going on right NOW.

6289283

4.  I read Born to Run by Christopher McDougall shortly after I started running.  When I finished this book, I wanted to go run a marathon; that’s how excited it got me about running.  This book also introduced me to Scott Jurek, who is a vegan ultra-runner.  I had no idea there were vegan athletes.  I was so inspired!

178788

5.  If you know someone that is not convinced that a plant-based diet is the healthiest diet you can eat, have them read this book.  I gave this book to a good friend of mine, who suffered a heart attack at the age of 46.  I begged him to read it.  I don’t think he did.  😦 It doesn’t stop me from trying, though.  I recommend this book to anyone who is considering a vegan diet.

I’m off to have a cold beer and a black bean burger and then we’re seeing the new X-Men movie!  Winning!

 

 

One thought on “5 Books

Leave a Reply

