Uncategorized

5 Foods

It has been a busy week, both at work and at home!  I’ve run 4 out of the last 5 days, and plan to run again tonight, and I’m hoping to have a quiet weekend!  I definitely need it!

Today’s 10-day You Challenge is 5 foods.  As a vegan, I get asked all of the time, “What do you eat?”, so I decided to list 5 foods that I eat on a regular basis.

1.  VEGETABLES

Greens, broccoli,potatoes, and raw carrots are vegetables that I eat almost every day, but I love all kinds of vegetables and eat lots of servings every day.  When I make salads, I use a LARGE bowl and fill it up with mixed greens, avocado, whatever vegetables I have in the fridge, and a protein such as chickpeas or beans.

2.  FRUIT

I eat bananas EVERY day, along with a couple of other servings of fruit for my snacks throughout the day.  Depending on the season, I’ll eat apples, pears, watermelon, strawberries, etc. on a daily basis.  I keep a large bag of frozen fruit in the freezer, too, to add to smoothies or oatmeal.

3.  SOY OR ALMOND MILK

I eat cereal or oatmeal most days for my breakfast and will use soy or almond milk.  I also like to have a glass after I get done working out.  I also use the non-dairy milk for baking and cooking.

4.  NUTS AND SEEDS

I like to eat a small handful of almonds and pumpkin seeds for snack.  I love peanut butter!  I try not to eat too much of it, but I love to have some on a bagel, or on a banana for a pre-run snack!

5.  BEANS AND LEGUMES

Refried beans, black beans, cannelini beans, chickpeas and lentils are things that eat a lot of.  “Where do you get your protein?” is the other question I get asked a lot.  I guess people don’t realize how much protein you can get from eating beans and legumes.

Other favorites: wine, cupcakes (in moderation!), avocados, hummus, quinoa, pasta, oatmeal, pancakes, tofu…….and people think that there’s nothing to eat when you’re vegan!

One thought on “5 Foods

Leave a Reply

