Uncategorized

9 things I love

I started the 10-Day You Challenge yesterday.  Yesterday was a bit of a somber post, talking about 10 things in my life that have been hard.  Today, though, I get to talk about 9 things that I love:

1.  MY FAMILY

Kayla 2014 Grad Party 044

My husband and two daughters are the center of my universe.  I love them more than words can describe.  I also have other family members, though.

Dogs

This is Lillie and Jasper.  They are both shelter rescues.  They are my four-legged babies and are part of our family.

Maggiemoo

This is Maggie, my four-legged grandchild.  She is a shelter rescue, also, and belongs to my oldest daughter.  They are both living with us right now, but will be moving out to their own place in July.  She now weighs 75 pounds, but this is my favorite picture of her.  I’ll miss her when she moves out!

2.  ANIMALS

I love animals.  ALL of them.  Therefore, I’ve chosen not to eat them or any product that comes from them.  I don’t know how someone can say that they love animals, but then eat them.  “I love you, my four-legged dog friend, but I’m going to eat this lovely cow or pig.”  It’s maddening, and a bit warped if you really, truly think about it.  Which I think many people don’t.

3.  RUNNING

This blog is called veganrunnernerd, so you knew that running had to be a love of mine, right? 😉

4.  BROOKS RUNNING SHOES

Every pair of running shoes I’ve owned have been Brooks.  Right now, I own a pair of Ghost 6.  I LOVE them!

Ghost

5.  READING

I’ve always loved to read.  One of my first memories when I was little was going into a library and checking out books.  I was maybe 6 at the time.  You know how when you move somewhere new and you find the mall, the grocery store, the post office, etc?  I always look for the library.  Once I find the library, I feel settled, like I’m home.  I can also spend hours browsing in a book store.  I love the smell of books.  I love hardbacks, paperbacks, and my Nook e-reader.  Reading books is my escape, my source of knowledge and imagination.  Something feels incomplete without a book in my handbag or a pile of books on the coffee table, you know?

6.  DOCTOR WHO

What is it about this show?  I discovered the new episodes on Netflix almost two years ago.  Once I started watching them, I couldn’t stop.  This show is not just a show.  It seeps into every pore of your being and it becomes a part of you.  You grieve each time the Doctor regenerates and a new Doctor emerges.  The new Doctor then grows on you and you fall in love with him again, and then….heartbroken once again as he regenerates and becomes a new person.  This show is funny, sad, witty, outrageous, and totally ADDICTING.  This show has been on the air for 50 years so far.  50 years!!  A normal show doesn’t stay on the air for 50 years.  This show is special and I love it and I am a Whovian to the core.

7. HIKING

We went on a family vacation in the Ozarks a couple of years ago and went on our first hike.  My husband and I were instantly hooked!  We love being outdoors, it’s great exercise, and the places you can hike are limitless!

8.  SOCIAL MEDIA

I love Facebook.  I love reading blogs.  I’ve learned so much and have been so inspired by things I’ve read and people I’ve met via social media and the internet.  I know that constantly being on the computer or on your smart phone has it’s downfalls, but as a vegan, it can feel very lonely, especially where I live because I just don’t meet any other vegans (or even vegetarians) and so it’s nice to be able to talk to others who share the same beliefs as I do and the only way I can do that right now is through social media.

9.  BEING HEALTHY

Until I started eating a plant-based diet and started running and working out, I never really knew what being healthy truly felt like.  If you had asked me 10 years ago if I felt like I was a healthy person, I would have said yes, but when I look back, I really wasn’t.  It’s like when you’re plugging along without glasses and then you decide to visit the eye doctor and he gives you a prescription for glasses and the first time you put the glasses on and see the world so much clearer and you say to yourself, “This is what I’ve been missing this whole time?”  Since being eating plant-based, I have more energy.  I don’t get tired in the afternoons.  I sleep better.  I rarely get sick anymore and when I do, I seem to recover faster.  I handle stress better.  I’m just happier.  I LOVE feeling healthy.  🙂

I love so many things these days, but the above nine are some of things I love the most.  Some honorable mentions would be coffee, wine, craft beer, sitting outside on the back patio, going to the movies, watching a Netflix marathon on a cold, rainy (or snowy) day, hanging out with friends, and days when I don’t have to set my alarm.

10 thoughts on “9 things I love

  1. Love all your 9 loves! You definitely have a lot to be thankful for and have a great support system in your family. I’ve always wanted to foster/rescue dogs, but I think that will have to wait a while until I am done with daycare. You definitely are an inspiration to people to want to become healthy and exercise. Every time I see your running post I want to run. But I am not a runner, well not yet. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list – one of my goals this year is to get more hiking in. We finally did this on vacation, and it was so lovely & invigorating that I forgot it was also exercise 🙂 Hope you continue to have fun with the challenge!

    Like

  3. Tammy–hunt me down on FB–Patricia Haley –I’ve got a rainbow over Baltimore as my profile pic. It’s always great having another vegan FB friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

