Uncategorized

The best kind of run

It was another busy weekend, but I had so much fun!  We got together with friends both Friday and Saturday night, and it was our youngest daughter’s senior prom on Saturday night.  Lots of laughs (and a few tears during prom pictures).

I also ate and drank quite a bit, so on Sunday I was itching to do a run.  There is a 1.5 mile long path that we have in our town that’s just a block from our house, so I decided to run there because the forecast was calling for storms and I wanted to stay close to the house just in case the storms came in.  My husband came with me to get his walk in.  I didn’t take my GPS watch, and I had no mileage goal in mind.  I just decided that I would run until I was tired.

It was probably one of the most enjoyable runs I’ve had.  Yes, it bugged me a bit that I had no idea how fast I was running, but I knew by doing several times round trip on the path that I ran about 5.25 miles.  It felt so good, and I was having so much fun just listening to my iPod and running, enjoying the weather, and crossing my husband on the path, getting a quick kiss and drink of water, and taking off again!  I even put my iPod on shuffle instead of doing a running playlist!

My husband and I decided that we will both do the BIX 7 at the end of July.  It’s a 7-mile race that I had signed up for last year and was unable to do because of an injury.  I’m determined to run it this year, and my husband said that he would walk/run it, too.  I am super excited!  I think that races are much more fun when you have family and friends to do them with, don’t you think?

 

Leave a Reply

