Uncategorized

What inspires you?

Every morning when I get up, I look forward to the day.  What can I do to inspire others to be more healthier and happier?

It would be impossible to inspire others, however, if I’m uninspired.  And let me tell you, I’ve had many days, even months and years, when I felt uninspired.  I was tired and stressed.  Each new day felt just like the day before: nothing but work, errands, chores.  I hated my job.  I was filling my body with junk.  I was exercising, but it was hit or miss.  In a nutshell, I felt like crap and it was depressing as hell to think that this is what the rest of my life would be like.

The transformation of my life started with this book:  A New Earth by Ekhart Tolle.  I still pick up this book from time to time to remind me that the only moment that matters is NOW.  That worries and fears are created by my mind only.  And most importantly, it helped me realize that I have no control over others, only myself.  The lessons from this book are things that I work on all of the time.  It’s a work in progress, but I’ve come so far since first picking up this book.  I would encourage anyone who hasn’t read this book to read it.  It’s life-changing.  Truly.

Next, I became a vegetarian.  I was a vegetarian in college, but then I met my future husband and I decided that it was just more convenient for me to eat meat.  Dumb.  When I finally realized that I wanted to become vegetarian again, I instantly felt better.  Not better in the physical sense, but better psychologically because I felt a burden had been lifted because I wasn’t eating other animals, who I love, respect, and cherish.  Then I started reading things about factory farming, factory dairy and egg production, and I knew that vegan was going to be the next step for me to take.  Here are some books that were very helpful with this journey:

This Crazy Vegan Life by Christina Pirello

The China Study by T. Colin Campbell

Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer

It’s not just about the animals, though.  I also want to help our planet and environment thrive so that many generations to come can enjoy this beautiful planet that we live on.  We as humans really need to take a hard look at what we’re doing to Earth:

http://www.themindfulword.org/2013/going-vegan-infographics/

I will admit, I’m human and I have moments when I feel discouraged and I need a boost of hope to get me going again.  I’m surrounded by loved ones, colleagues, and strangers who haven’t found that inspiration they need to become healthier and happier.  I totally get it.  I was once in their shoes.  My hope is that each person finds that inspiration they need, whether it be from a book, a movie, a quote, or just the act of another person.

My HOPE is to inspire others to improve their health through diet and exercise.  My DREAM is that everyone becomes vegan.

How awesome would that be?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vx5n21zHPm8

 

2 thoughts on “What inspires you?

Leave a Reply

