Uncategorized

A Productive Sunday

Yesterday was a busy day!  My husband and I are working on projects around the house, getting prepared for our youngest daughter’s graduation party in about six weeks.  Yesterday my project was cleaning out some cupboards in the kitchen and reorganizing things so that it doesn’t look so cluttered.  I took some before photos, but I’m not quite done organizing and cleaning yet, so I’ll post before/after pictures once everything is done.  I can tell you, though, that the kitchen already looks a LOT better!  I just hope that we can keep it clean and organized.  Do you know how many times I’ve cleaned and organized the house, only to have it get messy and cluttered again?  Why do we do this to ourselves?  I’m sure many of you out there know what I’m talking about!

I took a break yesterday from the cleaning to make a late lunch.  I had bought a head of cauliflower from the store the day before and decided to make the  Cauliflower Soup from Produce on Parade  I didn’t have onions, garlic, bay leaf, cumin, or cardamon, so I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  However, the soup turned out to be delicious and it will definitely be a regular item on my vegan menu.  It was very flavorful, and the red pepper flakes gave it a nice little kick.  It was also super easy to make.  I had the soup made in no time and was able to enjoy a nice bowl of soup before I had to get back to work cleaning.

After working in the kitchen for most of the day, I had it clean and organized enough to suit me for now and decided to call it a day and watched the final three holes of the Master’s tournament.  I don’t normally watch golf, but I love Bubba Watson.  Not sure what it is about him, but I just find him really fun and charming.

Dinner last night is a favorite of both mine and my husband’s.  I made the Veggie Biscuit Pot Pie from the Happy Herbivore’s Everyday Cookcook.  I make the biscuits with Bisquick Heart Smart Mix (it’s vegan!)  I also made mashed potatoes because I like to top the biscuits with mashed potatoes and then pour the veggie stuff on top of my mashed potatoes and biscuits.  Such yummy goodness!! Talk about total comfort food!  After a hard day of cleaning and organizing and watching it rain outside all day, this meal really hit the spot!

3 thoughts on “A Productive Sunday

  1. I really feel you about organizing things. It’s a never ending battle and I so often feel like I am on the losing side. I *will* get my kitchen counter cleaned off by the end of this month–that’s my goal.

    Like

    1. Katie, I made the soup again yesterday, and this time I had all of the ingredients and WOW, it’s such an awesome soup! Definitely one of my favorites! It’s on the lunch menu for this week! Winning! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

