Uncategorized

The Awesome Sauce of Being Vegan

I’ve been a vegan for four years now, and so I feel confident enough in my vast experience when I say that being vegan is awesome sauce!  I would venture to say that many who see this blog are vegans, too, and none of the things below that I’m about to reveal are going to be new to you because you, too, are experiencing the awesome sauce that being a vegan brings.

For those of you who are thinking about becoming vegan, let me just tell you what you can look forward to:

1. I lost weight.

Since going vegan, I’ve lost about 20 pounds and have gone down three dress sizes, going from a size 14 to a size 8.

2. I am the Energizer Bunny.  I keep going…..and going…..

Since becoming vegan, I no longer feel sleepy in the afternoons.  I can get up in the morning and GO, GO, GO and when I lay my head on the pillow at night, I’m out like a light!  I sleep a full 7-8 hours a night and I wake up every morning feeling rested.

3. I’m physically in the best shape I’ve ever been.  EVER.

I run 3-4 times a week, I do strength training, I do Zumba.  I hike.  I go for walks.  People, I have muscles!  I’m always flexing my arms and feeling my biceps because I HAVE MUSCLES.  Such a great feeling!  I can wear tank tops, sleeveless dresses, spaghetti straps and am not embarrassed by jiggly arms anymore.  I’m proud of my 47-year-old legs that run for miles at a time.

4. Animals are friends, not food.

I can look at any animal now, look him/her in the eyes and say, “I’m not going to hurt you. I’m not going to eat you, wear you, or abuse you.”  I don’t have to feel guilty about anything I’m eating.

5.  I am more compassionate.

The blinders have come off.  I can no longer look at a terrible situation, whether it involves animals or humans, and just walk away and feel nothing.  I want to help.  I NEED to help.  Becoming vegan has made me a better person.

You might be thinking to yourself, “Tammy, if being vegan is such awesome sauce, why isn’t everyone doing it?”  That’s a great question!  I ask myself that all of the time.  I wish I had the answer.  Meat tastes good.  People don’t want to give it up.  They look at the steak or cheeseburger on their plate and they’re thinking about how good it’s going to taste, not where the meat came from.  They are convinced that eating fruits and veggies is just not as good as eating bacon, greasy French fries, and double cheeseburgers.  I am a living testimony that this just simply isn’t true.  I love to eat.  I love to eat good foods.  I do not feel deprived or hungry.  If I ever have a craving for protein, dessert, or carbs, there is a vegan food to satisfy that craving.

Still not convinced?  I challenge you to visit this website and eat bacon with a clean conscience: Esther the Wonder Pig

Leave a Reply

