Uncategorized

I found me again!

I used to be creative.  I used to be a bit artistic.  I used to be optimistic and positive, and I thought the best of everyone I knew and met.  I was a vegetarian. I don’t know what really happened to that version of myself.  It just faded over the years.  Life became about taking care of my family, paying bills, running errands, doing housework, and working full time.  I was eating meat again, I was always tired and stressed out.  I became cynical and distrustful.  My view of life had become seriously jaded.  I finally realized about four years ago that something had to change.  I had to change.  I had to find that person that I used to be.  I gave up eating meat and soon after that, I became a vegan.  I think the change in diet was the catalyst I needed.  I started running, and I changed jobs.

In a nutshell, I started focusing on myself and my well-being again.  Eating vegan and running improved my health, I lost weight, and I found my self-confidence again.

I think there’s some more work to do, though.  Our youngest daughter will be graduating in a couple of months and will start college in the fall.  I’ll have even more free time and I hope to tap into some things that I’ve missed.  I recently started taking a web design class for work and I absolutely love it.  I love learning and I love being in a class again, even though it’s an online class and I’m not physically in a classroom.  I’ve even been toying with the idea of going back to school and getting my PhD in Health Psychology.  Is it logical for a 47-year-old to go back to school to get her PhD?  Probably not, but I’m still considering it.

I’m putting together a bucket list of things I’d like to do over the next years.  Here are some of things I’m definitely adding:

1.  Run a marathon.

2. Do RAGBRAI (a week-long bike race across Iowa) with my husband.

3.  Go hiking in the mountains and camp overnight in a tent with my husband.

4.  Do some volunteer work involving animals.

Perhaps I’ll add “Get my PhD” to the list.  The sky is the limit, I believe!

Allons-y!

“We all change when you think about it. We’re all different people all through our lives and that’s okay, that’s good.  You’ve gotta keep moving so long as you remember all the people that you used to be.”  The Doctor

3 thoughts on “I found me again!

  1. I think this blog looks great. I have been thinking a lot about getting my blog going and your blog is only adding fuel to my fire. As a fellow vegan and nerd, if not a runner, I can relate to a lot of what you are saying. I was just shopping online for Walking Dead stuff yesterday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

