Uncategorized

Crazy, busy weekend!

Our youngest daughter is graduating from high school this year.  It has been a very bittersweet year for me and my husband.  On the one hand, we’re feeling excited and relieved to almost be done with the running around to this event and that competition.  We’re anxious to have more free time to spend with friends, and hiking, and working on projects around the house.  Yet, we’re also sad as we watch our daughter do things for the last time, such as show choir performances, dance recitals, golf tournaments, etc.  Our babies are growing up, becoming adults, and will soon have lives of their own.  It’s true what they say that time flies when you’re having fun!  We have seven weeks until Kayla’s graduation day and party, so our household will be crazy and busy over the next couple of months.  Yesterday Kayla and I picked out the tableware for the party, ordered party invitations, and made a menu of what we’ll serve at her party.  We want to try to keep it simple, but memorable.

We spent most of the day on Saturday at a state solo/ensemble competition, where Kayla sang a solo and received a I (superior) rating, and then she sang in the chamber choir, and that group received a I rating as well.  We are so incredibly proud of Kayla and her accomplishments over the years! 

Sunday morning was spent preparing food for the week.  If I have time on Sundays, I really love to prepare food and snacks to eat throughout the week.  I usually make a pot of soup and have soup for my lunch throughout the week.  I wash and prep fruits and veggies.  It really makes my life easier when I don’t have to put a lot of thought into what I’m eating for breakfast, packing in my lunch, or making for dinner during the week.

Here is a photo of some things I made yesterday.  I will try to create a page today to post recipes that I love.  Easy, healthy, and delicious are things that I look for when I cook. 

Image

Top left are cut up mini peppers that I’ll eat with the edamame hummus on top right.  Bottom left is a quinoa salad with black beans, corn, and tomatoes, and the dish on the bottom right is a ginger, carrot and orange soup.

For dinner I made black bean and quinoa burgers with roasted asparagus and green beans on the side.  Unfortunately, I was so hungry from being busy all day that I forgot to take a photo, but I promise you that dinner was FABULOUS! 

Leave a Reply

