Uncategorized

Focusing on the positive in an atmosphere of negativity

I love Sundays.  I think Sunday is my favorite day of the week.  It’s usually the only day that I don’t have to set my alarm.  I usually get in my long run of the week and then I make pancakes for the family.  Today, however, the husband is working on tiling our workout room/mud room, and the daughters had stuff going on, and I’m taking a break from running for a few days to nurse some foot pain.  Therefore, breakfast this morning consisted of oatmeal.  Here is my favorite way to prepare oatmeal:

Mix 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, and 3/4 cup non-dairy milk and microwave for about a minute and a half.  Stir and microwave for another minute or so until oatmeal is heated through.  Add a tablespoon of chia seeds and a sliced banana and let sit for a couple of minutes to thicken and cool enough to eat.  Sometimes I’ll drizzle a bit of maple syrup over the oatmeal for sweetness.

I’d post a picture, but once you get everything mixed up together, the oatmeal is UGLY.  But it is delicious and healthy!

Over the last several years, I’ve done a lot to try to remove stress from my life.  I started eating healthier, I started running, I changed jobs.  The stress level has definitely decreased significantly and I’m so much happier.  My life is not perfect, though, and as much as I try to stay positive and not sweat the small stuff, it’s hard to stay that way when others around you, well……aren’t.  How do you stay positive around others who do nothing but whine and complain?  How do you stay positive in a world of violence, greed, and destruction?  How do you stay positive when you want to change the world and make it a better place, but you constantly run into walls of negative obstruction?

It’s an issue that I struggle with almost daily.  All I can do is keep on doing what I’m doing.  I’ll admit that I often get discouraged, but every now and then I get a glimpse of positive influence that I seem to be having, and it motivates me to keep doing what I’m doing.  I just want to spread good health, love, and happiness to everyone I know, and even to those I don’t know.

I may not have super powers like Spiderman or Wolverine, but I have the power to spread the word of the advantages of eating a healthy, vegan diet and exercising.

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Focusing on the positive in an atmosphere of negativity

  1. I love your blog. As I read your posts I see many similarities between us. I am the only vegan I know; I run (always by myself) but it took me many years to get off the treadmill and go outside~ and now I won’t use the treadmill! I’m 58 & my kids are both grown and taking care of themselves. After I went through menopause I finally started finding myself again too. I went many years just trudging along and now I’ve been discovering a real passion for cooking. I also get very frustrated about injustices and things that I can’t change by myself.
    Good luck with the blog, I think it’s great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

