The ugliness of judging

There was a lot of conversation yesterday on Facebook regarding the following post:

http://engine2diet.com/the-daily-beet/a-bag-of-potatoes-microwaves-and-being-kind/

Essentially, someone was being judged by some other vegans for the following:
1. Shopping at Walmart
2. Using a microwave
3. Eating frozen food

This type of judging isn’t just prevalent in the vegan community; judging is prevalent everywhere. We all do it. But because I’m vegan, I’m going to talk about the struggle that I have had with judging others.

I’m going to be totally candid because when I decided to start this blog, I promised myself that I would be totally honest. So it’s confession time. When I first started eating a healthy, vegan diet, I found myself feeling quite superior to those who didn’t. While I didn’t go around criticizing others for their food choices, or lash out at people for eating animals, I was thinking these things inside my head.  I was feeling quite angry and quite frustrated with family, friends, and well…..just about everyone I encountered who weren’t vegan.

You’re sick.  You’re taking all of these medicines.  Why are you still putting that greasy, fatty crap into your body?  Plants would make you feel so much better.

How can you hug your dog and then eat a ham sandwich?  That pig would have loved a hug, too.

I’m going to punch the next person that tells me I need to eat more bacon.  Okay, maybe that thought is not so much judgment, but just an anger issue?

I’m ashamed of these thoughts.  It’s hard to accept the fact that others don’t feel the same way I do.  But that’s what makes us all unique and wonderful; the fact that we’re all so different and strange and weird, and that we all have different tastes and thoughts and opinions.  If we were all the same, it would be a boring world.

So I’m working really, really hard on the judgment that goes inside my head and the negative feelings that I feel in my heart.  These thoughts and feelings accomplish nothing and so I’m instead working on being loving and kind and embracing the differences of others, even if I don’t agree with them.

And I promise not to punch the next person that makes a comment about bacon.

 

2 responses

  1. I’ve seen comments on other vegan blog posts about being a new vegan and struggling. A fellow vegan blogger commented stating that being a vegan isn’t hard, you are just not trying hard enough. Whatever happened to: If you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all?

    Like

Leave a Reply

